Top 10 Things We Need Less of in 2009

Happy New Year! Welcome to 2009 (with 2010 closing in…fast) !

For many, it’s resolution time again. Personally, I’m not good at resolutions. It’s too overwhelming. First, I have to think of things to resolve to do or not do…and then I have to remember those things for 12 months!

However, observation is a hobby of mine, so here are my observations for making 2009 a great year: Top 10 Things We Need Less of in 2009.

10. Pre-Approved Credit Offers Enough already! Need I say more?

9. Household Appliances with Short Lives Why does everything we buy have a 1 year limited warranty? Take some pride in the products, manufacturers! Wait. Does anyone know how to say that in Chinese?

8. Speaking of Chinese Products Made in China I still get a thrill when I see a Made in the USA label. But on most occasions I will settle for products to be made somewhere other than China. Where’s the cultural diversity we keep hearing so much about?

7. The UN The only thing that “unites” them is their hatred…for America and for Israel.

6. The Media Prior to the 2008 election, I was sitting in my doctor’s office waiting room being tortured by CNN. The CNN reporter actually said, “It’s our job to keep them (the candidates) honest.” I’m still twitching as I type that. Uh…no, sir. Your “job” is to report the news!!! What a concept, eh? News reporter reporting news. That could be tomorrow’s headline in the NYT and Wash Post.

5. HFCS High Fructose Corn Syrup. Why is this stuff still in our food? I know I need to start making more stuff at home and buying less commercial and/or processed foods, but it’s a process to move into that sort of freedom. I’m not quite there yet. However, I was very happy to see that the Arnold bread I bought yesterday said it did not contain HFCS (not all Arnold products are HFCS free though).

4. Selfishness This is a personal reminder as well as a hope for the world. There’s too much “me” culture out there. It’s a world full of self-centered two-year olds. The writing was on the wall years ago when video rental stores had to remind people “Be Kind, Rewind”. It’s only gotten worse…much worse. We need a return to common courtesy, good social manners, and right thinking. I know. I know. Save some hope for next year.

3. Rap Crap aka Rap Music Run DMC was cool when I was 14. And the Superbowl Shuffle…okay, it was a little lame in hindsight, but we won the Superbowl because it united the fans. Rap was almost kind of fun in the beginning. But oh my goodness, look at the ugly monster that it has morphed into. It was already ugly when I was in high school with songs like Cop Killer and groups like Two Live Crew. Just when you think it can’t get any more vile and disgusting…it does.

2. Public Schools Yes. I am a very strong advocate for the collapse of the public school system and especially the NEA. Mark Twain said, “I never let school get in the way of my education.” and my life reflects that as well. These days, though, school is detrimental and diabolical. High school graduates can’t read and no one notices? Public schools are indoctrination camps bent on creating a population dependent on government welfare. Don’t believe me? Look around and see if you can use up all your fingers to count the productive members of society from your local high school. Better yet. Get a copy of the Humanist Manifesto and see if any of it corresponds to the condition of our schools.

1. Government I admit it. This is lofty thinking for 2009, but if we really want a return to the financial heydays and personal freedom then we need to work more diligently than ever to scaling it back…holding our elected officials (who work for us) accountable, demanding that they spend less and stop pandering to special interest groups.

There you have it, my Top 10 Things We Need Less of in 2009. So, what’s on your list? Leave your comments below.

Leave a Reply

