Unplanned Pregnancy – Part Nine

Links to Part One, Part Two, Part Three, Part Four, Part Five, Part Six, Part Seven & Part Eight are at the bottom of this page.

My apologies that “soon” turned into 3 weeks. I had a lot of pictures to sort thru & scan in.

I ended Part Eight by saying that placing her for adoption & having some early visitation wasn’t the end of the story. There is no end to the story because it is has been an ongoing, growing relationship not only between my daughter & myself, but also a friendship with her mother that I could have never imagined. Even pondering it now, I’m just amazed at what God has given me. It’s beyond words.

Through the adoption I obtained something greater than I gave away. At 19, I was essentially a child. But her mother never treated me with disrespect. Initially, I viewed her a mother figure in my life, a mentor. At some point, I realized that we had a deep friendship…a bond in our daughter. What makes it so amazing is that I never expected it. I expected her to be a wonderful, loving mother training my daughter with Christian values & ethics. But I could have never anticipated the role I would play in their lives.

Over these 17 yrs, she has given advice and asked for advice. She has asked for my input & opinion on matters that have flabbergasted me. Not because of the subject, but because I am amazed her level of peace in allowing me to play such a role in my daughter’s life.

Remember those 12 other adoptive family profiles I viewed? That’s exactly what they lacked, peace. It emanated from their protective & guarded words. They didn’t say it outright, but they screamed, “We’re going to take your baby & hide her away from you. We want your baby, but we’re afraid of you. You’re a threat to our family!”And rightfully so in some cases… Hey, I’ve met plenty of other birthmothers & I have been afraid too. I am not condemning adoptive families for these feelings. This is all completely natural and I would feel the same way too. My point is that my daughter’s mother had the same peace from God that I had & He grew in us an unfathomable blessed friendship. Second only to my friendship with Yeshua.

Note to Birthmothers: Your adoption, whether closed or open, is an opportunity to assess your life & make necessary changes. Grow. Learn. Mature. Progress. Make life choices in light of your child whom you loved enough to give to bless another family.

Note to Adoptive Parents: Love your birthmothers (& other biological extended family). Pray for them as you pray for yourselves in raising your child. Both will make a tremendous impact in their lives and yours.

Ready for some pictures?

Ultrasound - Jan 1992

Ultrasound - Jan 1992


Birth Day

Birth Day


Birth Day (left) & Placement Day (right)

Birth Day (left) & Placement Day (right)


Placement Day

Placement Day


Placement Day

Placement Day


Placement Day

Placement Day

Her mother is holding her. I didn’t crop them out of the picture ot be rude, but because I’m sure they don’t want to be plastered all over the internet.
2-3 wks post-partum, my first hike w/ dad's hiking group.

2-3 wks post-partum, my first hike w/ dad's hiking group.


Top Left: 4 wks, Top Right: 3.5mos, Bottom: 7 mos

Top Left: 4 wks, Top Right: 3.5mos, Bottom: 7 mos


Adoption Day - 10mos (I think)

Adoption Day - 10mos (I think)



Story Links:

Unplanned Pregnancy – Part One
Unplanned Pregnancy – Part Two
Unplanned Pregnancy – Part Three
Unplanned Pregnancy – Part Four
Unplanned Pregnancy – Part Five
Unplanned Pregnancy – Part Six
Unplanned Pregnancy – Part Seven
Unplanned Pregnancy – Part Eight

4 thoughts on “Unplanned Pregnancy – Part Nine

    • Thank you for stopping by to read it. Isn’t God awesome? (and your comment reminds me that I need edit my daughter’s next installment she is writing about our vacation).

      • …And your comment [Anne-Marie] reminds me that I must send you the next installment I’m writing about our vacation! AHHH! It’s being edited right now!

Leave a Reply

