17: The Birthday of My Dreams – Part One: Preface


Anne-Marie’s Notes: I am so very excited to have my daughter, Lindsey, graciously writing some guest posts for my blog about our 2009 AZ Trip. Of course, no arm twisting was needed for the talented author to compile the tale.

If you have not already, you might want to read the Adoption Story to get a better understanding of our relationship.

Part One is broken down into 4 segments: Preface, The Meeting, The Long Expected Party, & The Adventure.

Preface – Before there was a Birthfamily Sedona Trip [w/ Allie]

It had been three long years since I’d seen Anne-Marie (my birthmom) or my four little half-siblings (who I will lovingly refer to as “the Munchies” – a self-created slang version of “munchkins”). We’d talked about getting together again, but it had never worked out for either of us. In fall of 2008, I decided I’d had enough. It was time for a family reunion. My Mom agreed. Three years was too long.

At first, we considered driving out to Florida to see them in January of 2009. It seemed perfect. So, I started planning; looking at routes and hotels at various destinations. All my plans were coming together in my mind, but the reality was that time and money concerns prevented it from happening.

Then along came my birthday idea. Somewhere around February or March of 2009, I had formulated the birthday of my dreams. I can’t remember what I was doing, but somehow I was thinking ahead to my seventeenth birthday (which wouldn’t be until May). What was my dream? It was to have a birthday party in Sedona, AZ with my friend Allie and my birthfamily. But after Mom had told me how “unrealistic” it would be to expect my birthfamily to come all the way to Sedona, I finally settled on just taking Allie out of town the week before my birthday.

Mom got sick literally two days before we were to leave for our trip, so that whole thing had to be canceled. It was at this point that I spoke with Anne-Marie (which she wrote about in an earlier blog). I explained about how all of my birthday plans had been dashed, and then I told her about my birthday dream to take a trip to Sedona with Anne-Marie, the kids, and Allie. At first, Anne-Marie said that the best time for them would be the week of my birthday – the week of which Allie happened to be out of town. Oh well, at least I’d get to spend my birthday with my birthfamily.

But that wasn’t going to work because Mom still wasn’t up for traveling so soon. Then Dad said we could rebook Sedona for late May, early June. Soon after, I called Anne-Marie and Allie with the new travel dates – May 30th through June 6th.

In the meantime, Anne-Marie had started doing some research on flying to AZ, and when I told her the dates we had chosen, she made her decision to come too. Anne-Marie’s side of the trip slowly began to fall into place, but there was still Allie to worry about. At first, she sounded doubtful that her parents would allow her to be gone for 6 nights.

I’ll never forget the day Allie called me with her parents’ answer. They’d said yes to all six days of the big trip! With Anne-Marie and the kids coming, and Allie driving with us, it looked like my birthday dream with coming true!

Next Installment: 17: The Birthday of My Dreams – Part One: The Meeting

Leave a Reply

