Diagnosis: RA (part 3)


Yesterday I started taking the Prednisone that I’m supposed to take for 3 days. I was expecting like 1 pill, once a day. It was 3 pills twice on day 1 (total of 30mg) & will be 2 pills twice per day for today & tomorrow (20mg). I don’t know if that’s high or not.

So, I took my first set of 3 pills and waited to see if it relieved any pain. Then I took my next 3 pills before bed. I was not allowed to take any ibuprofen or aspirin & had to rely completely on the Prednisone to do what it was supposed to do. Otherwise, it was going to be a long, tortuous night of pain & restlessness.

By the time I went to bed, I did feel as if the pain had been relieved a bit. This morning my hands felt even better…still swollen & still painful when lightly squeezing the knuckles (that’s how the Rheumatologist checks them), but a vast improvement from recent weeks.

Something unexpected happen though. The swelling and pain in my cervical spine was gone when I woke up. It’s been swollen & painful for months!

See, for some reason, there is a lot of debate among Rheumatologists as to whether one can have RA in their spine. Patients with RA & back pain say, “Absolutely!”, but it’s not always so easy to get a doctor to agree with that. Whether she agrees or not, the matter is settled for me.

Now, I am only talking about my cervical spine. My thoracic & lower back are a different story…and most likely related to a .5″ leg-length discrepancy that was only diagnosed in 2008.

Anyhoo, this morning I had my x-rays done locally. It was pretty quick & almost a pleasure because the technician was my kind of person. We enjoyed our conversation, albeit short, during the x-ray session.

The rheumatologist should have the results tomorrow. I don’t know when “I’ll” get the results. I have to wait 2 weeks before I can request a cd of them for my own records. And I’m not scheduled to see the rheumatologist for 6 weeks! (I’ll have posted a vacation series of posts by that time! 😀 )

Now, I have to do some more research of the anti-malaria drug. Until I’m able to get the nutritional healing advice that I need, it might be better to do something rather than nothing.

So, that’s my RA update for today. I’m supposed to check in with the rheumatologist after I finish the Prednisone tomorrow. Would be nice to hear about my x-rays during that phone call as well. But again…it’s hurry up and wait…and wait…and wait some more…

One thought on “Diagnosis: RA (part 3)

  1. It does sound like you have RA. Feel free to check out my blog for some insight. http://dreamzncolor.wordpress.com My best advice is, find out what gets your pain under control (excluding Prednisone for long term) and keep your body moving. I gave up on opening things for a long time, because I didn’t want to feel the pain and I felt so weak. Don’t do that. LOL As far as your anti-malaria drug…is it Plaquenil? Check out this site. http://arthritis.about.com/od/plaquenil/a/plaquenil.htm You’ll need to have your eyes checked while on this medication. Good luck and keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

