Hold That Thought


Taking Every Thought Captive

2 Corinthians: 3 For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war according to the flesh. 4 For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, 5 casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ, 6 and being ready to punish all disobedience when your obedience is fulfilled.

“When I surrender my thought life to Christ, I am finally free to be used by Him. Hanging on to wrong thoughts hinders my walk, my faith, and service to the King.

Make every thought HIS!”

I jotted this note down to myself some time ago & stuck it to the monitor to remind myself about thinking pure & right thoughts.

For most of my life, I lived in my mind. It’s like a theater in there. I have written novels, given campaign speeches, had debates…all in my head…and all while doing things like mowing the lawn, hiking up a mountain, or applying makeup in the bathroom mirror.

The problem was that my thoughts were not always God-honoring. I justified my thoughts for a long time as something I couldn’t control. My mind HAD to think & therefore, it was doing it’s own thing.

Then I came across the passage above. It wasn’t the first time either. But it was the right time…according to God’s purpose. As I digested what He was speaking to me, I discovered that not only “could” I change my thinking, but I “had to” control my thoughts, I penned that quick note as a daily reminder.

My thoughts are not always perfect. But now rather than justifying & continuing to sail off into bad thoughts, I am able to throw out the anchor of His Word. By taking every thought captive, I am able to choose to dwell on the thoughts that are pure & right to honor my Lord and Savior.

Anne-Marie

One thought on “Hold That Thought

Leave a Reply

