My 21 Day Fast from Social Networking


I haven’t posted a blog update in almost 3 months!!! It’s a testimony to my chaotic life, my empty brain, and my empty brain. So, it seems completely ironic that I am now posting about fasting from social networking…which includes blogging…the things I haven’t done since mid-November. Big sacrifice, right?

Actually, it’s a challenge. A personal challenge to do something that I’ve wanted to do for a long time…write a bunch of blog posts ahead of time. Over the next 21 days (Jan 9th – Jan 29th) my blog will be busy, but I won’t be doing anything in real time.

Why fast from social networking?

One morning a few weeks ago, I realized that my church was doing the 21 Awakening fast in January. I had participated in the fast in the past two years. On the day of my realization I was pondering what to do about the fast since I was working through a strict nutritional program. If skipping a meal would get me yelled at, I imagined that fasting from food would get an even nastier response.

I prayed for God to show me what to do and He quickly revealed that I’m happily addicted to Twitter & Facebook. And while I am not as addicted to blogging as I would love to be, I could easily use blogging as a means to satisfy my lack of Tweeting & Facebooking. So, the blog is a no-go during this time too.

Earlier this week, I spent some time scheduling 42 Tweets to be posted over the next 21 days on Twitter (and also to FB via Selective Tweet). My reason. I don’t want to look like I just disappeared. My tweets explain my absence while providing the daily Scripture for the fast…not for my benefit because I won’t be on Twitter, Facebook, or my blog at all!

Honestly, I’m looking forward to this time of prayer & fasting. It won’t be without challenges. I’m prone to forget & Twitter has been a daily habit for 2 yrs. I’ll have to find ways to remind myself what I am fasting from. But I also have the knowledge that the Holy Spirit will be here to guide me and to remind me. I can’t wait to see what God teaches me over these 21 days.

So, I’ll see ya in 21 days!

Anne-Marie

Leave a Reply

