Nutritional Pursuits part blah


Day 1 – My 21 Day Fast from Social Networking

My ambition and expectations dwindled quickly under the boring menu, extreme restrictions (with NO substitutions) of the nutritional plan I began in November. After a week of success in the initial phase, I was shocked at the next phase. It was only 800, but that wasn’t the bad part. The bad part was that I couldn’t muster to eat 800 calories of the most boring foods on earth. I ate between 350-500 calories for the first week. I plateaued in 4 days. That’s how long it took my body to adjust to so little food.

I continued on the plan, upped my intake to 750-800 calories, but lost not one single pound. In the next week, I was frustrated, depressed, and in pain. Contrary to my expectations my RA had flared during this time of veggies and veggies and veggies.

Rather than feel encouraged by the “guidance” I was under, I felt very discouraged. I knew what I was doing on the plan. I knew what had worked for me in the past. But I was made to feel like I wasn’t doing anything right. When my RA flared so bad that I gained 5 lbs from water retention, I stopped checking in. I finally went in & explained that I needed to switch something. This phase was done in my mind & there was no point suffering in futility. They moved me into the next phase…and in a few days I lost 7 lbs.

Then I was faced with my next challenge. I was taking a 3 day trip (by plane). Adhering to the restrictions of this new phase were going to be impractical at best. When I arrived, I found out just how impossible it would be. And there was nothing I could do about it. Thankfully, I was done worrying about it. I decided to enjoy myself.

Amazingly, my “indulgence” didn’t have any impact on me…not weight or RA.

Though I go back and forth about whether it’s important to worry about losing more weight or not, I had to put my foot down on these asinine restrictions. In 2008, I lost 40 lbs & kept it off and never denied myself a craving. Mostly I crave chocolate if anything. And I did it without the outrageous price tag of a guided nutritional program and their insincerity. I was enamored with the promise of weight loss (if I did it right, of course, there’s no flaws in the ‘program’), so it took me awhile to see that they were happy to milk me for more money to buy their products. With each new bottle of pills, came a new exaggerated promise of “melting belly fat”, “burning more calories”, “increasing my metabolism” etc etc etc. They failed to ever see or comprehend my true goal…combating my RA with nutritional changes. They really have no experience in dealing with that and are only worried about their commissions of product sales.

I don’t know what 2011 holds for me in nutrition and RA. I’ll take some time to pray for it during the fast, for sure.

Anne-Marie

Leave a Reply

