A Few of My Favorite Things: BBC


Day 12 – My 21 Day Fast from Social Networking

Have you ever heard someone say, “I don’t get British humour.” ? Or perhaps that’s you saying it now. In any case, today I’m going to share with you a few of my favorites from the BBC.

Once again, this all started with my husband. It’s always his fault. He’s used it. Anyway, he would talk about how much he enjoyed watching this British show “Waro” in years past. It sounded vaguely familiar…and old. Somehow he tracked it down even though the man had the wrong name…and we started watching Poirot. Perhaps, he used the little grey cells, no.

We had watched several episodes when all of a sudden it struck both my husband and me…Monk. We’ve never been able to confirm it, but Monk shares a lot of similarities with Poirot so we think there may be some Agatha Christie influence in Monk. There’s murder, mystery, quirky people in a historical setting…what’s not to like.

A friend of my husband’s often lends & borrows movies & series. A few years ago he shared his Cadfael collection with us. Murder, mystery, and a monk sleuth. He’s surrounded by the “When you find ’em in the river, the cause of death is drownin” mentality seen in Sleepy Hollow. It’s medieval CSI.

Another series borrowed from previously mentioned husband’s friend was Chef!. I loved the first season of this show because it centered on the chef in his kitchen. Apparently they didn’t think that had enough depth to carry the show & wrote in all this horrible drama in the 2nd & 3rd seasons. There still are some great episodes all throughout.

Okay. Here it is. Bad, Anne-Marie, bad. But I have to say that my husband and I loved watching Coupling…yet another borrowed series from husband’s trouble-making friend. Yes, it is ABSOLUTELY not family-friendly. We locked ourselves in our bedroom to watch the series…all 28 episodes.

So there’s a few of my favorite things from the BBC. Do you have any BBC favorites?

Anne-Marie

One thought on “A Few of My Favorite Things: BBC

  1. I am a completely hopeless BritCom-ophile! I never watched Coupling, just not my kinda thing. However, I can sit for hours in front of As Time Goes By; Yes, Minister; Rosemary & Thyme; Good Neighbours; Darling Buds of May; anything Agatha (Poirot, Miss Marple, etc)… Unfortunately, our local PBS has dropped the Saturday night BritComs I enjoyed for many, many years. Not enough support, they say. *sigh* But I still enjoy some youtube episodes and have several series on DVD.

    I never thought about the Poirot/Monk similarity. Maybe that’s why I was so crazy about Monk. I loved Inspector Morse – and WANT his car! – but the new series (Inspector Lewis?) just hasn’t grabbed me. Oh, and have you seen the Mrs. Bradley Mysteries? Love those old cars and her chauffeur is too adorable. 8-]

Leave a Reply

